Le Week-End Dernier

4 Oct

As I get more and more settled into my life here in Paris, time just seems to keep going by faster. I could have sworn that last weekend just happened, but this weekend has already arrived!

Last Saturday, Shayla and I took the time to do a touristy activity, like we’ve been meaning to do. It was the perfect day to hike our way up the stairs to the top of the Arc de Triomphe!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the only reason that I really love being a student… Free entrance in many places!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
This is my favorite view in all of Paris. It doesn’t get much more perfect… (Even though Montmartre and the top of La Tour Eiffel are almost as great!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Speaking of Montmartre, we decided to head over to that area after we made our way down from the touristy views. We both haven’t spent much time in that area. In fact, I had only been once at night for some wine on the steps of the Sacre Coeur and Shayla hadn’t gone on this trip yet… Or maybe ever? I’m not sure.
Chocolate stop was 100% necessary in the “chocolate museum”!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As was a tomato and egg crepe… I’ve never had better “street food” than in Paris. You can find crepes anywhere at anytime… Freaking yum!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After exploring, it was time to head back home. We stayed in for the night so that we could wake up early on Sunday morning for the beautiful outdoor market in Bastille! We are making this into our new Sunday routine.. Seeing as we got some much beautiful food that lasted us all week for such great prices, it was be stupid not to do this regularly.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We took all of the loot back home, then Shayla and I decided to go exploring… And to get another falafel. We’ve been eating a good amount of those, and I don’t mind it one bit. We ended up wandering around after eating when all the sudden we ran into thousands of people standing around Bastille.. We had to figure out what was going on! Suddenly we were given a program… and condoms? These French sure are open. Turns out it’s the yearly fundraiser for AIDS with moving concerts of over 30 different artists. They play on giant moving stages between two different start and end locations in the city. People will just follow the trucks that they want to hear more of the music for. It was kind of awesome! And I’m pretty sure it was an excuse for all the high schoolers in the city to have an excuse to party on a Sunday.. Plus other people too, but I think that’s the most high school ages kids I’ve seen in Paris!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once we finally found a way to escape from the masses, we ended up running into another gathering… As if one wasn’t enough for one day! This time is was a protest of some sort. We didn’t know exactly what was being protested, but somehow Shayla and I accidentally ended up walking with the giant group for fifteen minutes. Then we realized it might be a good idea to separate ourselves from them until it was clear to us of what the topic was.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I totally preferred going to get a white chocolate raspberry cookie anyways.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And that concludes our last weekend adventures! (Minus the going out at night, but there’s really nothing new to talk about with that!)

Oh, and a bit of advice… Avoid falling asleep at 7:00 in the morning on the metro when you’re trying to get home. And when you fall asleep on the metro like I told you not to, really avoid running through the metro like a mad woman when you need to change lines… I guess I fell harder than I thought. Oops!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, Chrissy. I am still the same old spastic Nicole!

2 Responses to “Le Week-End Dernier”

  1. Chrissy October 4, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    I want that cookie and the chocolate, you can keep the condom!

    p.s. love your spastic, clumsy moments. Nice bruise

    • chasingparis October 7, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      Thanks. I’ve got another bruise on my thigh and I’m pretty sure I sprained my foot now too!

Leave a Reply

