C’est ma vie!

23 Sep

I’m the worst blog writer on Earth, but I think it just has to do with the fact that as I adjust to life in Paris more and more each day, there’s less to say. I feel like I’m starting to establish somewhat of a routine, making the fun facts that I wanted to share something that I enjoy but am not surprised by any longer.

It’s clear that this is not a vacation anymore; this is my life. (I think the biggest reality check of that is the fact that I have my first test in Haute Couture tomorrow. Yuck!)

Time for a mini-recap of the week!

Tuesday was Cafe Gourmand that I signed up for with CEA. They took us to a wine bar where we got to do a little tasting in the downstairs cellar. I had so much fun! We tasted a white and a red wine, and were served some cheese plates with the best cheese I’ve had to date. Heavenly! The blue cheese and the red wine were my favorite… I need to start writing down specifics so I can remember what things are though!

Tuesday was also when our new roommates, Shayla and Marnie, arrived! Unfortunately we were gone almost all of the day and night with classes, but I did manage to take Shayla out to a bar once I got home. Wednesday night, we had a picnic at the Eiffel Tour with salads, bread, cheese, and a bottle of wine… And then took nerdy pictures. The ones on her camera turned out better, so I’ll post them when I have the chance!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On another day, I took Shayla for a walk around the city to grab some felafels for lunch. She had never had one before! (Plus, this place definitely has the best I’ve ever tried.) So it was necessary. 😉 On our walk back to the metro, I realized we were near CEA and we both had a ridiculous sweet tooth. Enter Francois Pralus: Maitre Chocolatier. And you know we had to buy the mini loaf of their house specialty, the praluline. As their website describes it, “An amazing pure butter brioche generously filled with pounded pralines.” I believe it also had some sort of raspberry, and it was amazing. Unfortunately, because this place is located on my way to CEA, it’s going to be difficult not to buy one every day!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For the weekend, we’ve just been going out to bars and clubs, dancing all night long, and luckily staying out late enough every time that we are able to catch the first morning metro around 5:30! Wow, it’s fun. But I’m glad Sunday is here. I definitely need to catch up on a little bit of normal life time and a little less going out.

6 Responses to “C’est ma vie!”

  1. Chrissy September 23, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Don’t you love the wine and cheese pairings?! Next is chocolate pairings!!

    p.s. your roomie’s outfit at the eiffel tower is cute. Do you guys have the same boots, different color?!

    love you

    • chasingparis September 23, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

      Heaven! Especially with the amazing cheese that’s so regular for here! I love it.
      Yeah, so funny huh! She got them before she came here too.
      Love ya too, pooks.

  2. Steve P. September 23, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    Hi Nicole, we purchased tickets for going to the top of the Eiffel Tower for the 26th at 12:30pm, including you. So, your Dad says you’re skipping class (unless you have a test)! See you soon.

    • chasingparis September 23, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

      Looks like I’m going to have to skip class then because I’m supposed to be there from 12:45 to 4:00 on Wednesdays!

  3. Amandine Debusschère September 24, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    That’s normal life to go out and dance all the long night the week-end ! Why do you want stop that ? 😉

    • chasingparis September 24, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      Hahaha. Je ne veux pas arreter! Malheureusement, j’ai besoin de dormir. C’est bizarre!

Leave a Reply

