Ce Soir A La Seine

29 Aug

Reunited and it feels so good!

 

 

After four years of not having seen each other, I finally got to hang out with my friend Amandine. We did a mini exchange program years ago where she stayed with me for two weeks and then I went and stayed with her. So it’s really cool being able to see each other again! And now we’ll live in the same city until she leaves in November!

 

 

 

 

Amandine invited me to go with her to Quais De La Rappee, where many people go to sit around the river, dance, and picniquer. We ate our dinner there with a bottle of wine and watched all the people dance to many different kinds of music. They form large groups in these circles with a different genre for each. Some swing, some salsa. They invite each other (and everyone else) to dance with them for one song. People are coupled off with others that they’ve never met and their bodies just flow. It’s SO beautiful and fun. A really cheerful place to be.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amandine even got in on some dancing action!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another fun thing I tried? These chips that Amandine brought. They’re like cheetohs.. but salty peanut flavored. I wasn’t expecting the taste and thought I hated them. I’m pretty sure I’m addicted now that I helped her finish practically the whole bag.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My first night of many on La Seine. The first perfectly relaxing night I’ve had. Every day has been so crazy. Just go, go, go, all of the time. Perfect timing for a nice break. C’est belle, n’est-ce pas?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, and a little round-up of last night where I forgot my camera AGAIN. (Plus, I didn’t really want to look like a tourist on my first night going out!) We went to Pont Neuf, which is this the epitome of French beauty at night where all the young people go sit around at a spot on the river, drinking bottles of wine, and enjoying each other’s company. A classy “pre-gaming”, if you will! 😉 And yes, French people do drink a ton of wine and I will too while here. Need another reason why? Because it’s dirt cheap for decent bottles! I’m talking I’ll probably rarely spend more than three Euro on one bottle. Then the group was off to try to catch the last metro and head to a club called Cafe Oz. We lost half the group in the process. But everyone had a good night regardless of where they ended up. Good, and late. We were all zombies at orientation today. Cafe Oz was a fun place to go, but I probably won’t return too often. It’s kind of bro-y. But I had an amazing time, regardless!.. Maybe it had something to do with the fact that I met a nice French guy last night, and we’re supposed to go on a date tomorrow. Oh la la! Who knows?

 

6 Responses to “Ce Soir A La Seine”

  1. Chrissy August 30, 2012 at 12:41 am #

    So glad you got to meet up with her and she’s there until November!! Very jealous of all your wine nights!! Quais De La Rappee seems like a very fun place! Oh, and leave it to you to already meet a French guy!

    • chasingparis August 30, 2012 at 7:03 am #

      You know me so well! And it is beautiful!

  2. Amandine Debusschère August 30, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    I like it !!! It was a lovely night 🙂

    • chasingparis August 30, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      I had such a good time! Thank you, thank you!

  3. Emily August 31, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    She looks so good! You look so good!! I want to visit you. I’m missing you already. How fun. I don’t know the best way to keep in contact with you? Let us know how the date goes! Olive jew

    • chasingparis August 31, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

      Miss you too, Bosc! Really the only good ways of keeping in touch with me is through email or facebook. I was saying skype, but I’ve found that I definitely don’t have enough time for that right now. I hardly have time to get online at all! Olive jew tew!

Leave a Reply

