Mango Banana Bread

14 Aug

Although this is not a food blog, I do adore cooking. And have had many people ask me to put the recipes I use on a blog so they could try them too.. And since this is my blog, that’s exactly what I’m doing until I get caught in the whirlwind of leaving the country!

This one is for Shayni. Sorry it took me so long to get this recipe to you!

Mango Banana Bread

(Adapted from http://www.closetcooking.com/2012/07/strawberry-greek-yogurt-banana-bread.html)

 

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup brown sugar *

3 over-ripened bananas *

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 Greek yogurt

1 whole mango, cubed into small pieces

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Mix all dry ingredients in a smaller bowl (except brown sugar). In a larger bowl, mix brown sugar with bananas. Once combined mix in eggs, vanilla, and greek yogurt. Slowly add in dry ingredients to ensure full incorporation. Finally, fold in mango cubes. Pour into a prepared loaf pan and bake for about 50 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

* Some people may prefer more brown sugar, but I like to bake with very little added sugar. The sweetness of the mango makes less sugar hardly noticeable.

* My bananas were so ripe, they were a very dark brown and stored in the freeze for future usage. This made it easy to incorporate the brown sugar with bananas because I just defrosted them, cut off the tops, and squeeze the bananas into the mixing bowl.

TAKE NOTE: I made this bread during summer time… In Nevada… With an insane amount of heat every day in my house. Should have stored the bread in the fridge because the greek yogurt went a little sour after a few days, ruining the last bit of the loaf. Oh well!

Here’s my crappy picture because sadly it was the only one I took (I didn’t expect to post this anywhere other than instagram):

Image

Yum, yum, yum!

Leave a Reply

