Cucumber Quinoa Salad

14 Aug

To celebrate my last full weekend in the country, we’re going camping in Lake Tahoe. Our little group will consist of family and friends, including my old roommate who is flying in to town tomorrow (!!!). We plan to head up there when my parents are off work Thursday night, meaning that dinner for that night needs to be nice and simple. Add in the fact that we are all pretty big fans of real, clean food, this salad will be a perfect side to go along with our veggie burgers.

Because nothing beats fresh vegetables to balance out the mass amounts of s’mores and mojitos that are bound to happen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For the salad:

2 and a half cups of pre-cooked quinoa, chilled

1 whole cucumber, sliced and halved

1/3 red onion, very thinly sliced and then cut into quarters

1/2 cup feta

1 tomato, diced (I usually like to use cherry tomatoes cut into quarters, but I used what I had on hand this time.)

 

For the dressing:

2 and a half tsp. balsamic

2 and a half tsp. extra virgin olive oil*

1/2 clove garlic, crushed

1/8 tsp. oregano

1/2 tsp honey*

salt and pepper

Directions: Whisk the dressing all together in a small bowl, and pour over salad ingredients… So tough! I know.

*If you like your cucumber quinoa salad to feel like it’s dressed with a typical dressing, I would consider adding more oil. I don’t like the oily feeling of dressing, so I only lightly dress the salad for flavor.

* If you’re using a poorer quality balsamic vinegar, you may possibly want to add a bit more honey. Good quality balsamic tends to have sweeter undertones, making a lot of honey unnecessary.

Bottom line: Taste the dressing BEFORE you put it on the salad (duh), to make sure the proportions are good for you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Camping, here we come!… I don’t think Camp Richardson is ready for us.

3 Responses to “Cucumber Quinoa Salad”

  1. Chrissy August 30, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    Making this tonight for dinner with some Tilapia

  2. brwneydgrl101@charter.net August 31, 2012 at 12:56 am #

    I made my own version of this salad but used your tip on adding a drizzle of honey. GENIUS. I’m in love

    • chasingparis August 31, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

      Yum, yum! Love hearing that, thank you!

Leave a Reply

