And here starts the countdown…

13 Aug

My name’s Nicole and in two weeks from today, I’ll be heading off to Paris for about ten months. I’ve been feeling a bit numb due to the fact that I keep thinking, “This can’t be happening to me”. How can I be so lucky? Is this real? Someone pinch me…

I told myself from the start that something was going to have to go wrong. I’ve been on top of every little detail that I was required to complete before solidifying my plans. Everything was smooth sailing, but I kept looking over my shoulder for some massive problem to come ruin my dreams. Finally, the problems arose. There were difficulties finding classes that would help me progress in my degree. Will I graduate in time? I couldn’t decide what style living would be best for me. Could I possibly find all the funds to get my butt there? American dollars really suck compared to Euros. I was having a panic attack thanks to some rocky visa issues (Can the process be any more nerve-wracking?!) But I got through it with a few tears and frantic phone calls.

My best friend told me, “All you can do is keep trying and keep your confidence! This is meant to be and will happen! Don’t worry.” That’s when I took a step back and just let the processes handle themselves the way they were supposed to. And I was able to sleep again at night.

Now I’ve got my housing arrangements figured out. Today the names of my roommates were posted (I’m sharing a room with one other girl and there will be four of us in total sharing our apartment.) I’ve got my plane tickets all lined up to get there. (I’ve put off scheduling my flight back… Am I subconciously already depressed that I’ll eventually have to leave?!) And this bad boy came in the mail two days after my GRAND breakdown:

Now I can just wait for time to pass, figure out last details of packing, enjoy the company of my friends and family who I see so rarely, and breathe. Everything’s falling into place perfectly.

2 Responses to “And here starts the countdown…”

  1. Mom August 27, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Love your blog, it really makes me feel like I can stay connected with you from a distance. Can’t wait to hear more and see some apartment pictures. Sorry you couldn’t sleep. I sure hope I can on my trip to see you.

    • chasingparis August 28, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

      Ambien is much needed! Love ya! Glad you like it.

Leave a Reply

